Mountains hidden in the clouds

It’s weird and unheard of… I believe I might have lost it

I know it’s unimaginable…and yet I burn to reveal it

What I see when I stare into the dark skies…above me

The mountains that remain…well hidden in the clouds

They gasp…they sputter…and refuse to believe me

They cover their ears…and close their eyes

They yell out…to me and insist…I deny it

Yet I cannot…tell a lie when these mountains…beckon

I see them…so strong, so tall and well hidden

Those hurts we hide…and cover with our smiles

Yet they remain…what they’ve been…and what they are…and what they’ll be

Huge mountains that remain…well hidden in the clouds

True…the moving clouds tend to cover and obstruct them

But those clouds…do move and occasionally…reveal them

In those outbursts…we make…every now and then

That catch us…and our dear ones…off guard and unaware

That drives…a deep wedge…between the relationships… that ought to grow

Yet we continue…to deny…their very existence

And heap moving clouds…upon clouds…upon them till they disappear

From our minds…and our eyes…and our hearts

But a mountain…though invisible to the eye… does not

Vanish as we hope and remains quite strong

Unless we take that step and confront those hurts

They’ll forever…remain in our hearts…and our minds

Huge mountains that remain…well hidden in the clouds

-Yvonne Nana Dokua Obuobi

Leave a Reply

